Cookie banner

This site uses cookies. Select "Block all non-essential cookies" to only allow cookies necessary to display content and enable core site features. Select "Accept all cookies" to also personalize your experience on the site with ads and partner content tailored to your interests, and to allow us to measure the effectiveness of our service.

To learn more, review our Cookie Policy, Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.

clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen Are Nominated for a 2011 CFDA Award

Photo credit: Getty Images
Photo credit: Getty Images

Racked is no longer publishing. Thank you to everyone who read our work over the years. The archives will remain available here; for new stories, head over to, where our staff is covering consumer culture for The Goods by Vox. You can also see what we’re up to by signing up here.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has announced its 2011 award nominees and, omg, Michelle Tanner is on the list—Just kidding, sorry, we know they hate that—Mary Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen are nominated for the Swarovski award for womenswear. The other names on this year's shortlist? All familiar—Alexander Wang gets his share of nods, Marc Jacobs is getting a lifetime achievement award, Proenza Schouler populates a few categories, and Lady Gaga is winning the fashion icon award.

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, and Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, and Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Marc Jacobs

Special Tribute: Arthur Elgort

Fashion Icon Award: Lady Gaga

Media Award: Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph

Founders Award: Hal Rubenstein of In Style

International Award: Phoebe Philo for Celine

· 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees announced [CFDA]