Cookie banner

This site uses cookies. Select "Block all non-essential cookies" to only allow cookies necessary to display content and enable core site features. Select "Accept all cookies" to also personalize your experience on the site with ads and partner content tailored to your interests, and to allow us to measure the effectiveness of our service.

To learn more, review our Cookie Policy, Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.

clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sneak Peek: Photos from the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards Program

Racked is no longer publishing. Thank you to everyone who read our work over the years. The archives will remain available here; for new stories, head over to, where our staff is covering consumer culture for The Goods by Vox. You can also see what we’re up to by signing up here.

The CFDA Fashion Awards are slated to take place on June 6th in New York and, for the program that'll be distributed to guests at the awards ceremony, photographers Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin shot some of this year's nominees. Check out the gorgeous portraits of Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang, Lady Gaga, and the Proenza Schouler team, above.

PS: In case you're wondering why Lady Gaga was photographed for the program, it's because she getting the Fashion Icon Award this year.

From the release:

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs. The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr.

For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff.

Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, and Prabal Gurung have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear.

The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, and Robert Geller.

For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie
Borgo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love.

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of people.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Marc Jacobs.

The CFDA Board of Directors chose to bestow their Special Tribute on Arthur Elgort in honor of his impact on photography and fashion.

The Fashion Icon Award will go to Lady Gaga for being a fashion revolutionary impacting style today.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Hal Rubenstein of In Style.

The International Award will go to Phoebe Philo for Celine for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.

· CFDA [Official Site]