clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

50 Insanely Motivating Fitness Instagrams to Follow

New, 3 comments

Racked is no longer publishing. Thank you to everyone who read our work over the years. The archives will remain available here; for new stories, head over to Vox.com, where our staff is covering consumer culture for The Goods by Vox. You can also see what we’re up to by signing up here.

Welcome to Racked's Fitness Week: five days of workout coverage to kick your New Year's resolutions off right.


Instagram can be a friend or foe when it comes to working out. Follow the wrong user and descend into a guilt trip that ends only when you've cleaned the local 7-11 out of its Ben & Jerry's inventory. Follow the right ones and feel like you have a supportive, healthful gym buddy (or yoga guru) at all times.

So know thyself: Maybe you're looking for outfit inspiration for your next sweat session. Maybe feats of lady strength encourage you to pick up some five pounders. Maybe settling into a little downward scroll and realizing OH GOD. EVERYONE IS WORKING OUT. is the most advantageous form of FOMO.

Below there's a mix of fitness magazine editors, celebrity trainers, famous body parts of Instagram, motivational quoters, and your everyday ladies with a knack for contorting their bodies in beautiful settings (and picking the right filters). Follow your inspiration and get moving below.


Image via @barbarajean_yoga

· Amanda Bisk: Serious back-bend/leaping inspo [@amanda_bisk]
· Antonia Eriksson: Recovered anorexic focuses on a strong, healthy body [@eatmoveimprove]
· Ashley Ringo Walsh: For runners motivated by wilderness FOMO [@ashruns100s]
· Barbara Jean Gorgeous yoga in gorgeous settings [@barbarajean_yoga]
· Caitlin Turner: Insane yoga videos galore [@gysetgoddess]
· Carolina Berg: Even a baby can't stop this soccer wife's abs [@fotballfrue]
· Cassandra: Self-described yoga ninja [@hiptoyourjive]
· CrossFit: Amazing feats of strength [@crossfit]
· David Kirsch: NYC trainer, occasional videos [@davidkirsch]
· Dancer Scan: Dancers' bodies. Dancers' bodies everywhere [@dancerscaninstagram]
· Eselle Allen: Upbeat colors, smoothies and strength training [@estelleallen]
· Equinox: Inspiration by intimidation [@Equinox]


Image via @kayla_itsines

· Fit Girls Worldwide: Before and after photos central [@fit_girls_worldwide]
· Fitness: Similar to the mag [@fitnessmagazine]
· The Fitness Closet: Where fashion and fitness collide [@thefitnesscloset]
· Fitsporate: Emporium of fitness instas [@fitsporate]
· Flywheel: Crazy indoor cycling shenanigans [@flywheelsports]
· Faith Hunter: Bonus yoga with her puppy [@sprituallyfly]
· Fresh Fitness: "The Bikini Body Trainers" [@fresh_fitness_aus]
· Grow Soul Beautiful: #YogaADay shots, plus challenges [@growsoulbeautiful]
· Insta Fit Society: A collection of ripped people [@instafitsociety]


Image via @jenselter

· Jayell Lewis: All the motivational quotes you need [@jayelllewis]
· Jeanette Jenkins: Celebrity trainer [@msjeanettejenkins]
· Jen Selter: The butt of Instagram [@jenselter]
· Kathryn Budig: Women's Health Mag's yoga guri [@Kathryn Budig]
· Kayla Itsines: Great for insane abs [@kayla_itsines]
· Laura Sykora: For yoga poses you didn't think possible [@laurasykora]
· Laura Gordo 46-year-old butt phenom [@cttchickentuna]
· Lita Lewis: Strength training with a touch of hilarious [@follotthelita]
· Lorna Jane: The woman behind Active Living clothing [@lornajaneactive]
· Lululemon: Sometimes controversial, always pretty pictures [@lululemon]
· Mara Hoffman: Occasional yoga, constant color [@marahoffman]
· Massiel Arias: Insane feats of lady strength [@mankofit]


Image via @balletbeautiful
· Mary Helen Bowers: Ballet fitness demigod [@balletbeautiful]
· Melissa Lee: Super saturated yoga photos [@pocketdwarf]
· Michael Olajide Jr.: Major model trainer of the moment [@elcuerpodepapi]
· Nike Running: Feet gloriously hitting the pavement [@nikerunning]
· Oiselle: Women's running clothing and women runners [@oiselle]
· Rachel Brathen: Well-traveled yoga instructor [@yoga_girl]
· Scott Jurek: Top ultramarathoner, majestic views [@scottjurek]
· Self: The magazine and more [@selfmagazine]
· Shape: All encompassing fitness lifestyle [@shape_magazine]
· Sheila Advincula: A 42-year old mom's Ashanti practice [@Bohemian_Heart]
· Sohee Lee: All about strength and positive mindset [@soheefit]
· Tara Stiles: The everygirl yogi [@tarastiles]


Image via @tracyandersonmethod

· Tess: Yoga with a side of beer and cats [@_tessasana]
· Tracy Anderson: Gwyneth's guru [@tracyandersonmethod]
· Well + Good: Your new supportive, fit freak best friend [Well + Good NYC]
· Women's Health: Great for weekly challenges [@womenshealthmag]

· Fit Bottom Girls: Product and food recs [@fitbottomedgirl]
· Why Is CrossFit So Popular Right Now? [Racked]
· Exhale Trainer Nicole Uribarri's Serious Leg-Toning Lunge [Racked]