Cookie banner

This site uses cookies. Select "Block all non-essential cookies" to only allow cookies necessary to display content and enable core site features. Select "Accept all cookies" to also personalize your experience on the site with ads and partner content tailored to your interests, and to allow us to measure the effectiveness of our service.

To learn more, review our Cookie Policy, Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.

clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The CFDA Fashion Awards Will Honor David Bowie

Brothers Vellies
Brothers Vellies
Photo: Brenna Weeks/Getty Images

Racked is no longer publishing. Thank you to everyone who read our work over the years. The archives will remain available here; for new stories, head over to, where our staff is covering consumer culture for The Goods by Vox. You can also see what we’re up to by signing up here.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America announced its 2016 nominees and honorees last night, and it's deja vu for many of the categories. Last year, we noted that literally everyone nominated for 2014's CFDA womenswear, menswear, and accessory designer of the year categories was nominated again in 2015.

Once again, many of this year's nominees are the same as last year. For example, everyone but Michael Kors is nominated again for Womenswear Designer of the Year. The Swarovski Awards for emerging designers are more varied, naming young brands like Brother Vellies, Gypsy Sport, and Monse.

Donna Karan and Norma Kamali will both be honored for their career achievements, and Alessandro Michele is picking up another piece of hardware for his maximalist work at Gucci. David Bowie will be honored with a Board of Director’s Tribute award.

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra; Marc Jacobs; Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler; Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School; Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone; Tim Coppens; Thom Browne and Todd Snyder.

The Accessory Designer of the Year Award:

Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra; Irene Neuwirth; Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel; Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

Brandon Maxwell; Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, and Ryan Roche. In Menswear, the nominees are Rio Uribe for Gypsy Sport; John Elliott, and Alex Orley, Matthew Orley and Samantha Orley for Orley.

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:

Aurora James for Brother Vellies; Gigi Burris, and Paul Andrew.

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Norma Kamali

The Founder’s Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert:

Donna Karan

The Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard:

Imran Amed of the Business of Fashion

The International Award:

Alessandro Michele of Gucci.

Board of Director’s Tribute:

David Bowie