Cookie banner

This site uses cookies. Select "Block all non-essential cookies" to only allow cookies necessary to display content and enable core site features. Select "Accept all cookies" to also personalize your experience on the site with ads and partner content tailored to your interests, and to allow us to measure the effectiveness of our service.

To learn more, review our Cookie Policy, Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.

clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

All the Winners of the 2016 CFDA Awards

Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson present at the CFDA Awards. Photo: Theo Wargo/Getty Images

Racked is no longer publishing. Thank you to everyone who read our work over the years. The archives will remain available here; for new stories, head over to, where our staff is covering consumer culture for The Goods by Vox. You can also see what we’re up to by signing up here.

The Oscars of fashion — the annual CFDA Awards — went down at Manhattan's Hammerstein Ballroom on Monday night, drawing the industry's biggest names this side of the Atlantic. (And a few foreign stars, like Gucci designer Alessandro Michele, on hand to pick up this year's International Award.) While the evening was first and foremost notable for giving Mary-Kate, Ashley, and Elizabeth Olsen occasion to arrive draped in black like the coven we always knew they could be, the awards also gave due to a host of brands shaping fashion today.

And now, the evening's big winners, updated in real time...

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Marc Jacobs

Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra; Marc Jacobs; Kate and Laura Mulleavy, Rodarte; Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year: Thom Browne

Nominees: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Public School; Marcus Wainwright and David Neville, Rag & Bone; Tim Coppens; Thom Browne; Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra; Irene Neuwirth; Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel; Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler; Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, The Row

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Brandon Maxwell

Nominees: Brandon Maxwell; Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, Monse; Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, and Samantha Orley, Orley

Nominees: Rio Uribe, Gypsy Sport; John Elliott; Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, and Samantha Orley, Orley

Swarovski Award for Accessories Design: Paul Andrew

Nominees: Aurora James, Brother Vellies; Gigi Burris; Paul Andrew

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Norma Kamali

International Award: Alessandro Michele, Gucci

The Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Donna Karan

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Imran Amed, Business of Fashion

The Board of Directors' Special Tribute: David Bowie

Fashion Icon Award: Beyoncé